The light Magazine

Joseph Areruya named African Cyclist of the Year

Written by: Gisele Umuhoza
Friday, December 21st, 2018, 12:23

Rwanda’s Joseph Areruya has today been named the African Cyclist of the Year by La Tropicale Amissa Bongo, the organizers of this prestigious trophy on the Continent.


The 22-year old trounced South Africa’s Daryl Impey and Eritrea’s Amanuel Gerezghier who finished in the second and third positions respectively.  

The Jury that constitutes sports personalities and leaders was chaired by the five-time winner of Tour de France, Bernard Hinault.


“Thanks to God, it’s a great achievement and I am really happy and proud for having won this crucial title,” Areruya told local reporters on Friday.


The determined young man from Rwanda’s eastern Province first went down in Africa’s sports history January this year when he became the first Rwandan to win the most coveted Africa’s cyclist race.  The 7-year old La Tropicale Amissa is the biggest on UCI-Africa.


Areruya who has been a contracted cyclist for for South Africa’s Dimension Data for Qhubeka closely to two years won Tour du Rwanda in November2017 making a firm footing which enabled him make a long summersault to the French club Delko–Marseille Provence KTM.


Areruya who has the title of Africa’s top-rated cyclist owes his career development to local Les Amis Sportif cycling club.   

The history of La Tropical Amissa Bongo Trophy

 Natnael Berhane  - Eritrea - 2012

 Louis Meintjes - South Africa - 2013

Mekseb Debesay - Eritrea - 2014 

 Daniel Teklehaimanot - Eritrea- 2015

 Tesfom Okubamariam –Eritrea- 2016

 Louis Meintjes - South Africa- 2017

Joseph Areruya - Rwanda - 2018

Leave a comment

What Other people say: